Starting The Blog

I’ve always wanted to be a “blogger” but I never really felt I was creative enough or had the correct resources and knowledge to do it (and sometimes doubted having the time to keep it up). Luckily the course I’ve chosen to take at Rutgers University, Strategic Presentation Methods in Digital Media, gives me the time and resources to start a blog…hence why I’m here. I pretty much use/have used all of the main social media platforms, but still haven’t had much experience blogging. I have attempted using tumblr, although I’m pretty sure I might have been the only viewer of my site, so I guess that was just solely for my entertainment? I’ve also hopped on the Pinterest bandwagon, where I mostly just look at pictures of food and recipes and what not (that should help me here). So we’ll see how this whole blogging thing goes from here on out.

WordPress so far has been pretty simple to set up, yet I still need to familiarize myself with all of features it provides. I’m kind of picky when it comes to appearances of things like this, so most likely I’ll change my theme, how I write, what posts I write, pretty frequently until I feel it’s just right. The most straightforward aspect of blogging is writing new posts; I have no trouble figuring that out. As for everything else, I still need to explore WordPress and find out exactly how to use it and design my site to make it user friendly.

Referencing the article we read for class, “5 Interior Design Tips to Make Your WordPress User Friendly,” by Bob Dunn, I’m still working on the construction of the front door, the main rooms, the garage, and the front porch. I’ll get there though.

Blogging Tips Anyone?

2 thoughts on “Starting The Blog

  1. I think your blog idea is great! I know you said you’re still working on design aspects of your blog but so far I think it looks great. Just work on figuring out the garage widgets but your ‘about’, ‘contact’ etc. are placed well and are very user friendly. Great job!

  2. Thank you so much! I was actually going to write on your blog to tell you how cute and clever it is! I love “Girls” as well and I’m trying to incorporate it into my blog, hopefully it’s successful. I don’t think yours needs to be changed that much- I know everything can be a little hard to manage- but maybe your “foundation” and once we get used to this you can changed some fonts or something, but other than that I love your blog and can’t wait to read more!

Leave a comment